Students Inducted into PTK Honor Society

- 2 - For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, please contact Tanya Nicks at (704) 991-0290 or Tamara Maness at (704) 991-0286, or visit PTK Honor Society Inductees from left to right, row one (front): Amanda Elbe, Lindsay Vanhoy, Reagan Efird, and Jacklyn Acevedo. Row two: Allison White, Cathryn Struck, Amber McIlwaine, and Addie Campbell. Row three: Katherine Eure, Carla Sudbury, and Abby Hatley. Row four: Adam Hermann, Amee Robinson, and Corbin Glover. Row five (back): Jasmine Cruz, Alex Sloop, and Shawn Doby. Not pictured: Gabriel Burnette

Share this:

On Tuesday, March 27, Stanly Community College (SCC) held its annual induction ceremony for the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society, Alpha Psi Upsilon Chapter. PTK was established in 1918 and is the largest honor society in American higher education with over two million members and 1,200 chapters located worldwide. The society awards numerous scholarships and promotes networking among members and opportunities to demonstrate excellence in a variety of formats such as PTK honors programs, leadership conferences and annual conventions.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a highly coveted honor that will enrich the student’s life while attending Stanly Community College and will remain a notable part of his or her professional life as he or she pursues further educational and career goals.

PTK Vice President, Abby Hatley, welcomed family, friends, and guests to the ceremony. PTK Chapter President, Lindsay Vanhoy, gave opening remarks and introduced the guest speaker, Dr. John Enamait,President of Stanly Community College.

During his remarks, Dr. Enamait commended the inductees on their outstanding academic achievement.He conveyed that these students are already leaders and challenged them to continue to enhance their leadership skills using critical thinking as well as wishing them continued success in future academic endeavors.

PTK Advisors Tamara Maness and Tanya Nicks, along with Lindsay Vanhoy, Abby Hatley, andPTK Secretary, Jasmine Cruz, and PTK Treasurer, Amber McIlwaine, facilitated the induction ceremony.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, please contact Tanya Nicks at (704) 991-0290 orTamara Maness at (704) 991-0286, or visit

Share this: