SCC Scholars Recognized

Share this:

Stanly Community College (SCC) recently recognized its 2107-2018 scholarship recipients during a special program held at the Stanly County Agri-Civic Center.  

“The Scholar Recognition event is a special program that allows the prestige and honor of being a scholarship recipient to be recognized and celebrated,” commented Christy Bogle, SCC Foundation Director.

Honored speakers included SCC President Dr. John Enamait and Dean of Financial Aid Management Ms. Petra Fields. Mrs. Bogle offered remarks on behalf of the SCC Foundation.

Scholarship recipient Eli Hatley is a University Transfer student and will receive his Associate in Science and Associate in Arts degrees in May 2018. As the guest speaker, he expressed gratitude for his scholarship donors and appreciation for the educational opportunities offered to him at the College.

ROSE Chairperson Beth Swanner recognized students selected for the ROSE and the Webb scholarship programs. ROSE provides scholarships for female students who are paired with a mentor for support during their educational journey.

The Webb Scholar program is in honor of Dr. H. T. “Toby” Webb and offers scholarships to male students. Dr. Webb had a tremendous impact on so many lives and his impact is felt throughout the College and community.

Financial Aid Office representative Emily Leslie recognized the Heritage, Annual and 21st Century scholars. The 21st Century Scholars program was initiated in honor of Mrs. Daisy Fort and is sponsored by Dr. W. Davis Fort. This program selects local Stanly County students in middle school who commit to completing high school and two years at Stanly Community College.

All scholarship recipients were given certificates of achievement and received congratulations from Dr. Enamait and other College faculty and staff.  Light refreshments followed the ceremony.

For more information on scholarships available at Stanly Community College, please visit

21st Century Scholars (left to right) front row: Lilly Swan, Zoe Burris, Allison Whitley and Shana Helms. Back row: Jake Thompson, Abelardo Espinoza, and Andrew Griffin.
State Employees Credit Union Scholarship – SCC students Heather Griffin, Josiah Wilmoth, and Mr. Steve Brown, representing State Employees Credit Union.
Cube Hydro Carolinas Scholarship – Mrs. Christy Bogle (SCC Foundation) and SCC students James Clubb, and Rhianna Finney.
Charles Ray Miller Memorial Scholarship – SCC student Carrie Swaringen and representing Charles Ray Miller Memorial is Mr. Patrick Powe, Ms. Wendy Rachels, and Ms. Michele Miller.
Gene Haas Foundation Scholarship – SCC students Jon Ledbetter, Josiah Wilmoth, and representing the SCC Foundation, Mrs. Christy Bogle.
First Bank Scholarship – Mrs. Christy Bogle (SCC Foundation) and Ms. Angie Sasser, representing First Bank. SCC student Victoria Phipps not pictured.

Michelin Aircraft Tire Scholarship – SCC student Brandon McNaught and Ms. Nadra Taylor, representing Michelin Aircraft Tire.
Seven Oaks Doors & Hardware Scholarship – SCC student Walker Rinehardt and Mr. Robert Parrish, representing Seven Oaks Doors & Hardware
SCC Presidential Scholarship – SCC students Satchel Humber, Linda Nguyen, Eli Hatley, and Joseph Medlin.
Stanly County Managers Scholarship – SCC students Justin Griffin, Jeremiah Blayton, and Ms. Kathy Almond, representing Stanly County Managers.
Stanly Funeral Home Scholarship – Representing SCC Foundation Mrs. Christy Bogle (left and far right). SCC students Hanna Carter and Kristen Lilly.

West Stanly Rotary Club Scholarship – Representing West Stanly Rotary Club (left and far right) Mr. Fran Albritton, Mr. Steve Shaw and Mrs. Ruth Shaw. SCC students Eli Hatley, Jacob Whitley, Megan Fox, and Milie Buff.
ROSE Scholarship Mentors (seated): Beth Laughridge, Beth Swanner (Chairperson), Penny Townsend, and Barbara Whitley. SCC students (standing) Casie Brown, Michelle Cauble, Ericka Sanchez and Kathleen Miller.
Webb Scholarship Recipients – SCC students Michael Finney, Wesley King, and William Carriker.
Heritage Scholarship Recipients : First row (left to right) Cindy Rinehart, Kimberly Hayes, Carmen Efird, Hannah Babinsky, Breanna Weishaupt, Michelle Kania, Amanda Elbe, Madeline Brown, and Morgan Foley.
Second row: Alexis Kieffer, Jennifer Gassler, Jon Ledbetter, Lyndsey Funderburk, Allison Shew,
Nina Kennard, Der Chang, and Kimberly Griffin.
Third row: William McDermott, Robyn Freeman, Christa Huneycutt, Sarah Fox, Shannon Rudisill, Jeannine Klos, and Lacey Whitley.
Fourth row: Jenelle Williams, Lachandra Means, Casey Allen, Brittany Brooks, Jamie Kurtz, Bailey Williams, Jessica Overcash, and Laurn Nakhle.
Back row: Patrick Cato, Gary Williams, and Joshua Baucom.
Share this: