Republicans Asciutto, Burr face off for NC House seat

By Leah Schmalz
Stanly County Commissioner Peter Asciutto faces incumbent Justin P. Burr for a seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives in the May 6 primary. The Republican business owners would represent District 67, which includes Montgomery and Stanly Counties.
Over the past year and a half, Asciutto has spent one day each month working in a different area of local government. “As a Stanly County Commissioner, I have fulfilled my campaign promise to learn, listen and inform,” he said. He has worked an EMS shift, accompanied restaurant inspectors and animal control officers, taken school tours, and spent a day at the Locust Library, all with the intention of learning more about government function and understanding how tax dollars are spent. He plans to continue this practice if chosen to serve in the House.
As owner of Vac & Dash in Albemarle, Asciutto also cites the journey of starting his own business and the life lessons he learned along the way as a solid foundation for his political work. “Our customer base consists of Democrats, Republicans, Unaffiliated voters and those that don’t vote,” he said. “We need a representative that is able to communicate with people from all backgrounds.” His company also manages more than 40 annual running events to raise money for non-profits throughout the region.
Burr is similarly experienced in business, continuing his family’s work for Burr Bail Bonds in Albemarle. “Growing up working in my family’s small business taught me the importance of hard work, the value of a dollar, and the need for less government regulations and lower taxes,” he said. He serves as Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, working with other members to “cut wasteful spending and to make sure your tax dollars are spent wisely.”
During his three terms in the House, Burr worked to secure funding for Stanly County Community College and National Guard’s Tarheel ChalleNGe Academy. “We have accomplished all of that and more, all while reducing spending and cutting taxes, because we started prioritizing spending and eliminated areas in government that were not part of our state government’s core functions,” he said. He has also helped pass pro-life legislation and the Marriage Amendment, as well as expanded the rights of law-abiding gun owners. His goal going forward is to retain this conservative voice to uphold the values of the citizens of Stanly County.
For U.S. Senate, citizens can choose from Republican candidates Thom Tillis, Jim Snyder, Edward Kryn, Mark Harris, Heather Grant, Alex Lee Bradshaw, Greg Brannon, and Ted Alexander. Democrat candidates include Will Stewart, Ernest T. Reeves, and Kay Hagan. On the Libertarian ticket are Sean Haugh and Tim D’Annunzio.

Stanly County
Republican candidates for board of commissioners at-large are Matthew Swain, Jann Lowder, Art Burleson, and Heather Boles Couick. Democrats are Franklin Lee and Debra Morgan. Republicans Scott Efird and Mike Barbee are running for the District 1 Board of Commissioners seat. Republicans Bill Lawhon and Ronny Couick are running for District 2.
Michael Whaley, Tony Trick, George T. Burris, and Melvin B. Poole are the Republican candidates for Sheriff. The Democrat candidates are Cameron Speights and Rick Burris.
Mark Martn and Ola M. Lewis are running for Supreme Court Chief Justice. There are three Supreme Court Associate Judge seats. Eric Levinson, Robin Hudson, and Jeanette Doran are vying for one. Bob Hunter faces Sam J. Ervin IV for the second. Mike Robinson and Cheri Beasley seek the third seat. For the three Court of Appeals Judge spots, Bill Southern is running against Lucy Inman, Donna Stroud is unopposed, and Paul Holcombe is against Mark Davis. John W. Webster and John R. Nance face each other for a seat on the District Court.

Cabarrus County
For the North Carolina House of Representatives, Carl Ford and Linda P. Johnson are seeking reelection as Republican candidates. Republican Leigh Thomas Brown and Democrat Earle H. Schecter are running for Representative of District 82 against Republican incumbent Larry G. Pittman.
Larry M. Burrage, Chris Measmer, and Jason Oesterreich seek another term as county commissioners. Lynn Shue, Grace Mynatt, Diane Honeycutt, and Chad Nevada Mockerman are running against them for the three available seats.
For the Cabarrus County Board of Education, three seats are available. Blake Kiger and Carolyn B. Carpenter are running for reelection. Lynn Shue is up for reelection but did not file. Kevin H. Jones, Horace Stainback, Vince Powell, Thomas Clark, Tim Furr, Andrea Palo, and Denver Walker are also running.
There are two seats open for the Kannapolis Board of Education. Danita Rickard and Millie W. Hall are running for reelection. Oddy B. Crist is also running.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>